Para la traducción hacer clic en el cuadro de arriba
Para tradução em Português, por favor clique a caixa em cima
Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) provides benefit payments to insured RI workers for weeks of unemployment caused by a temporary disability or injury. Enacted in 1942, TDI was the first of its kind in the United States. It protects workers against wage loss resulting from a non-work related illness or injury, and is funded exclusively by Rhode Island workers. Only four other states; New York, New Jersey, California and Hawaii, as well as the commonwealth of Puerto Rico, have a TDI program.
Temporary Caregiver Insurance (TCI) was signed into law on July 11, 2013. TCI provides eligible claimants up to 4 weeks of caregiver benefits to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law or grandparent, or to bond with a newborn child, new adopted child or new foster-care child. You must apply for TCI benefits during the first 30 days after the first day of leave is taken for reasons of bonding or caregiving.
TDI and TCI are financed entirely by employee payroll deductions. The current withholding rate as of January 1, 2020 is 1.3% of your first $72,300 in earnings. Workers aged 14 and 15 are exempt from wage deductions and coverage. If you worked for more than one RI employer in a calendar year and your total wages were more than $69,300 (in 2018), you may be entitled to a TDI tax refund. To download a TDI tax refund claim form on-line, click here. You can also obtain the refund form from the Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill-Suite 36, Providence, RI 02908, (401) 574-8700.
Temporary Disability Insurance benefits are not subject to Federal or State income taxes; therefore, you will not receive a G-1099 form. Temporary Caregiver Insurance benefits are subject to Federal and State income taxes. If you receive TCI benefits, you will receive a General Form (G-1099) in January of the year following the year in which you were paid TCI benefits indicating the amount you received. This amount will also be reported to the IRS.
BENEFIT RATES as of 7/1/19:
$98 minimum; $867 maximum
not including dependency allowance
Health Care Providers:
Contact Info + Hours:
Email TDI/TCI at: DLT.TDI@dlt.ri.gov
Telephone Customer Service at (401) 462-8420
Monday, Tuesday, + Thursday, 8 AM to 3:30 PM
Friday, 9 AM to 3:30 PM
|An Official Rhode Island State website.||
DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program - auxiliary aids and services available upon request. TTY via RI Relay: 711