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I. Workers’ Compensation Insurance, Employer’s Liability Insurance, and
Related Issues

A. Policy Concepts

What situations would be paid under the comp policy?
Make yourself aware of what’s covered under a comp policy vs. other types of

insurance

B. Self-Insurance
Traditional Insurance through an insurance company
OR

Self-Insurance certified by the Department of Labor and Training (DLT)
After meeting certain criteria, certain companies can seek to become self-insured

but can only do so through DLT

C. Work-Related vs. NOT...
Willful intention
Intoxication or unlawful use of controlled substances

Voluntary participation in employer-sponsored social or nonprofessional athletic
activity

D. Fraud Prevention

Within DLT

Documents or evidence are privileged and not open to the public

Employee must be notified that endorsing a benefit check affirms eligibility to
compensation

Statutory check endorsement statement must be on all checks

E. Workers’ Compensation Court

Mandatory Pretrial conference within 21 days of filing

Payments made within 14 days of the entry of the order

Claim a trial within 5 days



F. WC Administrative Fund

Every self-insured employer and every insurer must pay $7,500 into the Workers'
Compensation Administrative Fund for every case of injury causing death in which there is no
person entitled to compensation.
G. Preferred Provider Network

If the insurer or self-insured employer has a Preferred Provider Network (PPN), approved by
the Medical Advisory Board, any change by the employee from the initial health care provider of
record can only come from the PPN. If not in the PPN, approval must be obtained.
H. Health Care Provider Fee Schedules

Medical fees are paid based on ~

Hospital Fee Schedule: In-patient; Emergency Room; Ambulatory surgery

Medical Fee Schedule: All others

NOTES:




I1. Workers’ Compensation (State)
A. Requirements
1. Forms (order has been changed for ease of training)
e. Common Law Rights - Waiver
Claim of common law rights — not to be covered by Workers” Compensation
At the time of his or her contract of hire

Filed with DLT

State of Rhode Island, Departrnent of Labor and Training, Workers” Compensation Unit
P.O. Box 20190, Cranston, RI 02920-0942
Phone (401) 462-3100 TDD 462-3006
NOTICE OF CLAIM OF COMMON LAW RIGHTS PURSUANT TO R.I.G.L. §28-29-17
I

Mame Soc. Sac. No.

Address Date of Birth

an employes of the following business,

MName DBA

Address FEIN

do hereby give notice in writing that I claim my right of action at common law to recover
damages for personal injuries sustained while in the employment of the aforementioned employer.
I understand that by claiming this right, T am no longer eligible for nor entitled to workers’
compensation coverage or benefits pursuant to Title 28, Chaptar 29, of the R.I. Workers'
Compensation law.

Under penalties of perjury I declare that I have examinad this form and to the best of my
knowledge it is true, correct and complete. I further acknowledage that false statements on the
within document may subject me to criminal prosecution.

Signature Motary Public Signature

Date Date Commission Expires

& filing fee of five dollars ($5.00) is required with the submission of this form. Please enclose a
check or money order payable to Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training. The employer
should retain & copy of this form and send an original to the Department of Labor and Training.
For a dated receipt copy, include a copy with the original sent to the Department with a self
addressed, stamped envelope. The original and copy will be date stamped. The original will be
retained for our files., The stampead copy will be returned in the envelops provided.

DWC-11 (1/2002)




f. Physician Forms

Notification of Compensable Injury

Notice of Release to Work

Health care provider may charge $20 to the insurer or self-insured employer for
the timely filing of these two forms

NOTIFICATION OF CLAIM OF COMPENSABLE INJURY

TO BE SUBMITTED TO INSURER WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF INITIAL VISIT
WITH A COPY TO THE EMPLOYEE AND HIS OR HER ATTORNEY

DWC/MAB #:

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION:

INSURER'S #:

EMPLOYER INFORMATION:

Social security #

Mame

Address

City State Zip
Phone COB
INSURANCE CARRIER:

Mame

Address

City State_____ Zip
Phone

Imjury Dats

IF THE IDENTITY OF THE INSURER 15 UNK|
{401) 482-8116 FOR THE INFORMATIOM. S
COMPENSATION ACT PROVIDES FOR A 32|

1. In the patient's cwn words, relate how the |

2. Patient's complaints (nature and location of

3. Initial diagnosis:

4. Description of employes's job:

Sa. Is the patient released to work, full duty?
If the answer is YES, thers is no need

Sk. If the answer to S5a is NO, indicate anticipa)
Modifisd RTW date:

5. Date(s) of examination on which this report
Are you continuing treatment? I:] |

If YES, when will patient be seen agai

Physician's Signaturs,

Physician's Mame

Physician's Assistant Signature
Supervising Physician's Nams

Physician's Address

DWC-20 (4/02) RI Department of Labor & Trai

PHYSICIAN'S NOTICE OF RELEASE TO WORK

TO BE SUMITTED TO INSURER WITHIN THREE (3) DAYS OF RELEASE TO WORK
WITHA COPY TO THE EMPLOYEE AND HIS OR HER ATTORNEY

DWC/MAB #:

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION:

Social security #

Mame

Address

City State Zip
Phone DoB

INSURANCE CARRIER:

Name

Address

City State Zip
Phone

Injury Ciate

INSURER'S #:

EMPLOYER INFORMATION:
FEIM #

Mame

Addrass

City State Zip
Phone
ADJUSTING COMPANY:

Name

Addrass

City State Zip
Fhone

IF THE IDENTITY OF THE INSURER 15 UNKNOWRMN, CONTACT THE DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION AT
(#01) 462-8118 FOR THE INFORMATION. SECTION 28-23-8(b) OF THE RHODE ISLAND WORKERS'
COMPEMNSATION ACT PROVIDES FOR A §20.00 FEE TO BE CHARGED FOR THE TIMELY FILING OF THIS FORM.

This mediczal report is rendered pursuant to Section 28-33-8 of the Rhode Island Workers' Compensation Act.

This is to cerify that the abowe namad employzse is able fo refurn o work on

I:l B. Modified duty, imitations as follow:

Check one:

Please check the appropriate box(s):

[ Ho operating heavy machinery or vehicles
Mo repetitive climbing ladders or stairs
May lift up to
Mo reaching abowve shoulders

Mo repetitive twisting, bending, squatiing

pounds only

Mo repetitive stooping. knesling

Alternate standing/sitting
Mo work invalving uses of rightdef

Sit down work anly

Hesp wound clean and dry
Other

]:l & Regular duty, no restriciions

, as faollows:

This certification is based on medical examination performed on

Physician's Signaturs

Diate

Physician's Mame

Physician's Assistant Signaturs

Treatment Facility

Supervizing Physicians Mame

Physician’s Address

a7

DWC-27/28 (4/02) RI Department of Laber & Tranng, Division of Werkers' Compensation




d. Employer’s First Report of Injury
File within 10 days of knowledge
...if injury incapacitates the employee from earning full wages for at least three days
...iIf medical treatment was required regardless of period of incapacity
File within 48 hours of death

$250 penalty may be assessed for failure to report or late reporting

State of Rhode Island [ eLEASE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRICR REPORT
EMPLOYER'S FIRST REPORT OF ALLEGED OCCUPATIONAL INJURY, DISEASE OR FATALITY
Deparment of Labor and Training, Division of Workars' Compensation DWC Mo,
PO Bax 20180, Cranzion, Rl 02920-0242
Fihon J262-B100 TOO (401) 262-5006 FAX (401] 262-5105 Incurer Eile Na.
1. EMPLOYER LOCATION: 2. EMPLOYER NAMED OH WC INSURANCE POLICTY: |_|E.M-IE A3 BLOCK 1
FEIN FEIN
Name Name
dddrezs Fiddreaz
City, Sisfe Jip (City, State, Tp
Fhone Ext Type of Qusiness Phone Ext
Rl Unemployment Ins. Mo HACE 'WE Policy Mumber
3. HSURANCE COMPANY HAMED OM WC POLICY: 4. CLAIN ADMINISTRATOR: |_|EAME A3 ELOGK 3
FEIN FEIN
Name Name
ddrezs Aiddreaz
dddress Eiddrexz
City, Sisfe Jip (City, State, Tp
Fhone = Phone Exi
5. EMPLOYEE INFORMATICHN: 5. MEDICAL INFORMATION:
EN [Cueie CFemsie Traatmen Faciity
LBt Addrass
4 ddrezs (City, Stale, Tp
City, Simie i Phone Ext
Erone Cisbe o B 7. WITHESS INFORMATION:
Docupsfion Disbe Hined Hame Phore
Siate of Hire Preferred Larguege of Emgloyes: O Erglan O Zperizh O Poduguese O Ofer
B. MJUR'Y INFORMATION: Wik wae person diing when injured?
Irjury Date
Time injary occared D-‘.'.-' D:‘k'
Tima e=ployes bagen work Claw e
1. First full day lost from work I:l NONE LOET
2. Diste peburmes b wars f ecgrapeie) Listinjured body parts snd nabure of injury:jex: Brcken lef fingar, loarer back sissin)
3. Dade employes nofified of injury
|l ézénl - REPORT WITHIM £8 HOURS - Dmie of dzath
Flmce wihare inuryilness groorred D’-I employer location isbed in Elock 10R AL BOSIESS RS SECHE DS
Wi thiz injery previcusly an nedesk-onky wih o medical reabment and o fme lo=l? I:l"':: l:l b
I Yz, date employer frst nolifed of medical resiment or fme lo=t
Cetegoryfies) of injury arilvess: Olinury Ollke=s 0 Ocoupefions! Diseaze O Repebiive Traume 0 Oocupationsl Hearing Loz () Uinknown
Print Name of Report Preparsr Cale Prepared Prene & Extersion
Print Name of E=ployar Conbsch Pepson OR [Jzame ne sboe Frone & Exlermion
:_:,' Comanly Time & Time Wi |':'CC Nahure Pari Source Tyee
(=1

DWC-0 {01/03) For instructions Vsl our wed site: W LT g e




a. Non-prejudicial Agreement

Allows for payments for up to 13 weeks without accepting liability

If the payment of compensation is terminated, notice must be given to the employee and his

or her attorney within 10 days of the termination

If payments are made for more than 13 weeks, a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) must

be filed with DLT within 10 days

State of Rhode Island [] PLEASE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRIOR REPORT
NON-PREJUDICIAL AGREEMENT
Degartment of Labor and Training, Division of Workers' Compensation DWC No
PO Box 20190, Cranston, R 02320-0842  Fhone (£07) 462-8100 TOD [401) 462-8006
Inzurer File Mo

1. EMPLOYEE: 2 EMFLOYER:
55K FEIN
Name Mame
|Adaress Address
|Adaress Address
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip
Phong Cale of Sirth Snane Ext
3. INSURANCE COMPANY NAMED ON WG POLICY: 4. GLAIM ADMINISTRATOR: I:l SAME AS BLOCK 3
FEIN FEIN
Name MName
|Adaress Address
|Adaress Address
City, State, Zp city, Slate, Zip
Fhong Ext. Fnane Ext
Rl Licenize Mumber %I License or Self-Insurance Mumber

- List injured body parts and nature of injury:
Injury date
Firstdate of first disakbility
Placa whane ALY DCCUED
3. DISABILITY TYPE: (check 3l that apely) [CJC=ath BenefitzDate of Death
[ Temporary Total 22 of Payakis o
[ Temporary Partial as of [JPetmanent Total as of
&. RATE INFORMATION: 1 single ClMartied  Mumber of Exempfions

AWW (mclude bonuzing OT)
Average Overtime Amount

WW incheding Owertime Number of Dependenis
Spendable Base Wage Weekly Dependency Rate
Baze Comgensafion Rate Total Weekly Rate
7. DATE OF INITIAL PAYMENT:
Doss employee have ofher employers? Clves Mo 1 yes, altach a wage siatement from 2ach employer.
= this & recurrence of a previous Injury® Oves [Oke Previous disablity end date
Has the emplovee worked &t leas: 25 weeks prior to this recumrerce?  [es [IMo It ves, & new wage statement s reguired
Signature: Drate:
Print Mame: Rl Adjuster License Number: Phone & Extension:

MOTICE TO EMPLOYEES RECEIVING WORKERS' COMPENSATION BEKEFITS:
YOU MUST REPORT ANY EARNINGS you receive to the Claim Administrator that pays your benefiis. Failure to report eamings may
supect you o ol or criminal liab®ty. Your endorsement on a bensfit check s your statement that you are quafied to receivg]
workers' compensation benefts. You are NOT entitled to receive workers' cormpensation benefits for any time that you are imprisoned)
as a result of a cimina! comviction.
ATTACH WAGE STATEMENT(S) AND DEPENDENCY FORM

DOWC-20 (0103 For instrustions wisif our web sife: wanw.dlf i gowvdve




b. Memorandum of Agreement
Accepts liability

A copy of the MOA must be filed with DLT within 10 days of the initial payment with a
Report of Indemnity Payment (DWC-22) attached

State of Rhode Island [J FLEASE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRIOR REFORT
MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT
Deeartiment of Lakor and Tramieg, Division of Woekers' Compensation DWC He

PO Box 20190, Cransion, RI 02320-0942  Phone (407) 4628100 TDD [401) £462-B005
Inzurer File No

1. EMPLOYEE: 2. EMPLOYER:
55N FEIN
Name Mame
|Adaress Address
|Adaress Address
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip
Fhong Cale of Birth Enonge Ext
3. INSURANCE COMPANY NAMED ON WG POLICY: 4. CLAINM ADMINISTRATOR: |:| SAME AS BLOCK 3
FEIN FEIN
Name Mame
|Adaress Address
|Adaress Address
City, State, Zip City, State, Zip
Phone Ext. =none Ext
RI License Humber Rl License or Self-Insurance Mumber
. List injured body parts and nature of injury:
Injury date
Firstdate of first disability
Place where injury oooumed

3. DESABILITY TYPE- (check all that apply) [0esth Benefitz/Date of Death
[ Temporary Total az of Payakls to
[ Temporary Partial as of [JPetmanent Total as of
. RATE INFORMATION: [ single [(IMarried  Mumber of Exemptions
AWW [mclude bonusing OT)
Averages Overtime Amount
WW including Owertime Number of Dependents
Spendakble Base Wags Weskly Dependency Rate
Base Comgensafion Rate Total Weekly Rate

7.DATE OF INITIAL FAYMENT UNDER MOA:

Doss employee have other employers? Oves o 1fyes, altach 3 wage statement from 2ach employer
= this @ recurmence of @ previous Injury? [Ores [ne  Previous disabilty end date

Has the emplovee worked at le3st 25 weeks prior bo this recurence?  [lves [CIMo  Ifyes, a new wage slatement Is reguired
Signature: Cate:

Print Mame: Rl Adjuster License Mumber: Phone & Extension:

HOTICE TO EMPLOYEES RECEIVING WORKERS COMPENSATION BENEFITS:
YOU MUST REPORT ANY EARNINGS you receive to the Claim Adminsstrator that pays wour benefis. Failure 1o report eamings may
subject you w civil or criminal liab®ty. Your endorsement on a bensfit check s your staternent that you are quatfied to receive]
workers' compensation benefts. You are MOT entiled to receive workers' compensation benefits for any time that you are imprisoned
as a result of a ermina! conviction.
ATTACH WAGE STATEMENT(S) AND DEPENDENCY FORM

DWC-02 (01/03) For instruchions visif our web sife wnw i gowvws




g. Report of Earnings
Between insurer and employee
Regular intervals

Cannot be used to delay payments to an employee

State of Rhode Island
REPORT OF EARNINGS

Degartmens of Lakaor and Training, Division of Workers' Compensation

Phane (201} 452-5100 TOD [401) 462-5006 Inzurer Fils Mo,

1. EMPLOYEE INFORMATION: 2 CLAIM ADMINISTRATOR:

55N FEM

Hame Mama

Addmess Addrass

City, State, Zip City, Sta%e, Zip

Phang =nore Ext
This report covers the time period from: fior: PRESENT

3. NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES RECEIVING WORKERS' COMPENSATION:
If you are receiving weekly workers’ compensation benedts, YOU MUST REPORT ANY EARNINGS YOU RECEIVE TO THE CLAIM ADMINISTRATOR
THAT I5 PAYING YOUR BENEFITS. *Eamings” include any cash, wages, or salary received from setf-employment or from any empioyer other than the
emplayer where you were injured. Eamings ako include commissions, bonuses, and the cash value for all payments received in any form oiher han
cash (for example: a building custodian receiving a rent-free apariment).
¥our endorsement on a benefit check or deposit of the chedk into an account is your siatement Mat you are enfified 1o receive workers' compensation
benefils. Your signature on @ benest check is a further affrmation that you have made no false claims or statements or concealed any materal fact
regarding your workers' compensation claim.
¥'ou must report any work for any business or person, even i the business or persan lost maney of if profits of income were reinvesied or paid to oters
If you performed any dufies for any business or person for which you were not paid, you must show a rale of pay of what it would have cost the emplayer
to hire someone bo perform the wank you did, even if your work was for yourself, @ relative, or fiend.
¥ou are NOT enlitied to workers’ compensation benedts for any time you are imprisened as a resul of a criminal conviction.
4 Employee Complete:

[~}

1. Did you receive samings of payments during the akbove perod?  State YES or NO

2. Did you perioem nor-paid work activilies during the above perod? State YES or NO:

If you amswersd MO to BOTH guestions, sign, date and retum the form fo the CLAIM ADMINISTRATOR akave.
If you answered YES fo EITHER auestion. complete the following:

Emgigyer Name seirEmpioyed? [ lves O we
Andress Kature of business

City Stae Zip Code Fhong

3. Eamings Received: Report ere-tax earnings. Incluge any cash, borus, commission, and the cash valus of any payment

received in any form other than cash. Atlsch additional pages if necessary

Date Earned: Arnaunt: Dalz Eamed: Amount: Date Eamed: Amount Diate Earned: Amownt:

Failurs to report earminga as defined will subject you fo criminzl prosecution and civil liabifty including the suspension or forfeiture of your
benafits. This form MUST BE SIGNED, DATED and returned fo the Claim Administrator -- EVEN IF ¥OU HAVE NO EARNINGS.

Emeloyes Signature: Date:

Wilmess Sianature: Date:

D25 (0403 For instructions wisit our web site: wirwe dlE i goniens




c. Termination of Payment—Accounting

Within 60 days after the discontinuance or suspension of compensation payments, DLT

requires an itemized accounting of a claim, including medical, from the insurer.

State of Rhode Island
ITEMIZED STATEMENT OF COMFPENSATION

[ PLE&SE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRIOR REPORT

Department of Labor and Training, Division of Workers' Compensation DWC No.
=0 Box 20190, Cransion, R 02930-0842  Pnone (201) 462-6100  TOO (201) 462-6006
Insurer File Mao.

1. EMPLOYEE INFORMATION: 2. GLAIM INFORMATION:
25M Employer
Mame MEUTECE CO.
Adress Ciaim AdmnisTatar
City, Stae, Zip rjury date rcapacity dale

Daz o d=am [ weriseiatza of wo

Al pihers confinue Delow.

£ I:llncidant-ﬂnlg.-—ﬂ:- payments made. Complee Section & and refum to DLT only at above address.

4. NOMPAYMENT OF WEEKLY INDEMMITY OMLY: Cneck correct box and complete appropriaie infoemation on remainder of fam.

Ty 17 must

I:l Medical Only® b ris bmicar

I:l Dealiv-Liabiity establisnzed; no depandantz. Paymeni mads 0 WCAF

|:|Fadera| Jurisdiciion

Dnaniad

|:|5-a ary Continuation

I:l-:utnnr:

Do HOT use Siher
T claim ks Cented

5. DIAGMOSIS:
Primary Wrillen Diagnasis CD Code:
Secandary Writen Diagnosis CD Code:

[Li=t izl amourt paid for
£2ch appropeaie e v ol colums)

A. PAYMENT INFORMATION:

DATE OF FIRST INDEMNITY PAYMENT:

Temparary Partial

Hoseita! Treatment Cenber

Temparary Tok

Irdzpandant Medical Exams

Permanent Total Pharmaceutical
Weely Death Benefits Chircpractic
Buria Ciagrostic Testing

Specic - Disfgurement

Atlorney Fees Awarded by Court

Seecific - Loss of Ise

Penaltissinteres:

‘ocafional Rehabiiation

Vi Admiristrative Furd (WCAR)

Physical Theragy

Sedlement

Ocoupatonal Therapy

Deny & Dismiss

Psychological Sesvices

Oitkar Paymerts:

Physicians Sularogation [Oves [Nz

7. RETURM TO EMPLOYMENT: Cid e empoyee e o empoymenty [hves g [ urknzan
£ yes, was iLwitn ;2 Csame employer OF 3 Clserernempioyer [ unimoun Diate Fisaurnzd: [ urknamn
8. THIS REPORT WAS PREPARED BY: PLEASE PRINT

Mame Al Agjuster Licerse Numiber

Company Mame

Adrress

City State Zie Cods

Teleehore Extension Email

Sigrature Dale

DOG-S0 (D03

Distribution: DLT, Covision of Warkers” Compenszation; Employes and Aftormey: Employer
For instrucions wisit ow web sife:

v it gowive




2. Sole Proprietors and Partners — Excluded
3. Employment Covered
WC insurance is mandatory for employers with one or more employees
Jurisdiction for those hired or injured in RI
Partial list of exclusions:
Members of fire and police departments
Sole proprietors and Partners
Independent contractors
Volunteers
Certain real estate persons and farm laborers
4. Penalties
$250 penalty may be assessed for failure to report or late reporting
B. Benefits
Reasonable Medical for Injury or Occupational Disease/IlIness
Percentage of Lost Wages
Dependency Benefits if Total
Specific Damages
Rehabilitation
Death Benefits
1. Waiting Period

Three-day waiting period — no retro

NOTES:




2. Computation of Earnings

Bonus and Overtime included; separately
Wages from concurrent employment included
Full Time — 13 weeks

Part Time — 26 weeks

Seasonal — 12 months

Recurrence — If employee returned to employment for 26 weeks or more, new average

weekly wage is calculated

State of Rhode Island

SEASONAL WAGE STATEMENT  [Hired for 16 weeks or less)
Department of Lakor and Training, D i
PO Box 20190, Cranstan, RI 0282040342

[0 PLEASE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRIOR REPORT

DWC No.

neyrer File Mo

Deparmend of

State of Rhode Island
PART-TIME WAGE STATEMENT  jrire for ess Tan 20 nours per week)
Lakar amd Traming, Division of Workars' Comgensation

0 Box 20190, Cranston, &1 02920-0842  Pnane [407) 462-6100 TDO (401) 4526005

1. EMPLOYEE INFORMATION:

[ PLEASE CHECK IF CORRECTION OF PRIOR REPCORT
DWE No.

mzurer File No.
2. CLAIM INFORMATION:

State of Rhode Island

[ PLEASE CHECK IF CCRRECTION OF PRIOR REPORT

FULL-TIME WAGE STATEMENT  (Hired for 20 nowrs or mare per waek)

Degartment of Lakor and Training, Division of Warkers DWC No.

pensation

PO Box 20120, Cransion, R 0292040942 Phone (401) 452-8100 TOD (£01} 452-5006

neurer Filz No.

1. EMPLOYEE INFORMATION: 2. CLAIM INFORMATION:

55N Employer

Kame nsurance o
Hired for. nours gach wesk | D.i.ppr\cxima'.e] Claim Adminisiratar
Are these supplemental wagss? [es e njury date

If yes, supplemental employer name: ncapakity gate
Maximum na. of exemptions, Osingle [Married  Hire date

n the 52 week period.

izross Wages

fpiayment:

e of week of injury unless a full
g side of the form below.

4. EMPLOYED MORE THAN 2 WEEKS:

On the left side of the form, list gross wages prior o employee’s first Al day out of wor. DO NOT indude their week of nire or week of injury uniess a
ull week was paid. DO NOT SKIP WEEKS. Piease calculate any owertime andglor bonus paid SEPARATELY on the right side of the fam below.

CWMC-03F [01/03) For instructions wisit our web sife; wiwwe gt i govswne

3.EMPLOYED LESS THAN 2 WEEKS: CALCULATION:
If Yes: OR: Blace t
1. Listagreed upon hourly wage | IF
2. Number of nrs. par week for full-ime emplayees | 2ive average weekly for 5ame or smilar emplayment: s
3. Mulliply &1 by £2 for average weekly wage Blaze3

[

Elaci &
LIST 13 CONSECUTIVE WEE BOMNUSE AND OVERTIME CALCULATION il
= Elock S
\Wesk Endiny MNo. of standard 1Gross Wages Elack 1
Week Number ’ & 15033 WESES | umber of weeks empioyed (up o 52) me
Cale nrs. worked [No Cusrime)
. Elock 2
1 Total BONUS amount paid n past 52 waaka
2 Divige Block 2 by Biogk 1 for average borus
3
n Total OVERTIME amount paid in past 52 weeis ol eamingz
_ i . 2 weeks
] Divide Block 4 by Biock 1 for average overtime
& om + 52
B
7 CALCULATION OF AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE (AWW): F 3
hoom Date:
d 1. Total earnings fram 13 waeks - |
32 §
9 2. Total rumber usable weeks
Date:
10 3. Divige 10tal 2amings by number of usabie weeks
i1 4, werage bonus (BW0CK 3 in BONUS AND OT)
12 5. Add 3 and 4 for AWW excuding Overtime 5
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3. Medical and Vocational Rehabilitation

Dr. John E. Donley Rehabilitation Center

Within DLT offering physical, vocational and psychological services

Rehabilitation evaluation available after receiving compensation for more than 3 months

While participating in an approved rehab program, compensation cannot be reduced or
terminated

4. Choice of Physician

An injured worker shall have the freedom of choice to obtain health care, diagnosis, and
treatment from any qualified health care provider initially.

Examination or treatment at a facility providing emergency care or by a physician under
contract with the employer or insurer shall not constitute the employee’s initial choice to obtain
health care, diagnosis, or treatment.

5. Total vs. Partial
Total Incapacity
Same calculation for compensation rate
Payment for dependents
COLA as of May 10 if total for 52 weeks
No set time limit

Partial Incapacity

Same calculation for compensation rate

NO dependency

No COLA unless passage through the “Gate” at the end of 312 week time limit

Insurer/Employer must send a notice of intention to terminate to employee and DLT at least
26 weeks prior

6. Death

Every self-insured employer and every insurer must pay $7,500 into the Workers'
Compensation Administrative Fund for every case of injury causing death in which there is no
person entitled to compensation.

Burial Benefit on regular death claim is $15,000

7. Specific Injuries

Payment is mailed within 14 days of the entry of a decree, order, or agreement of the parties



8. Reinstatement

Employers with ten or more

Employees capable of pre-injury job tasks with or without reasonable accommodation
Subject to ADA and collective bargaining agreement

Position is “available” even if filled by replacement worker

Disputes are heard by WC Court

Reinstatement does not apply to a worker...:

hired on a temporary basis

in a seasonal occupation

who is on a probationary period of less than 91days

who works out of a hiring hall operating pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement
9. Dependency

Dependency is not paid on Partial Incapacity claims

$15 per week - Total Incapacity

$40 per week - Death Claim
C. Definitions

Part-time
Hired for less than 20 hours per week

Full-time
Hired for 20 hours or more per week

Seasonal
Hired for 16 weeks or less

Occupational Disease is covered under Rl Law

I11. RHODE ISLAND LAWS, RULES AND REGULATIONS
A. Powers and Duties of Insurance Commissioner

Licensing is handled by the RI Department of Business Regulation
Ability to rescind a license

Promulgate rules and regulations

Investigate violators

Administer penalties

B. Denial, Suspension and Revocation of license

Violations by adjusters can prompt a variety of consequences



C. Child Support Intercept Act

Within 30 days prior to making a payment to a claimant equal to or above $3,000, any WC
carrier must review information provided by the RI Department of Administration, Division of
Taxation to see whether or not that claimant owes back child support.

D. Complaint Handling Procedures

Insurers must maintain a complete record of all complaints it receives, including:
Total number

Classification by line of insurance

Nature of each

Disposition of each

Time it took to process complaint

Miscellaneous Adjuster Licensing Issues:

Handled by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR)
(401) 222-2223
www.dbr.state.ri.us

Reciprocal States
CT, KY, NC, NH, ME, MI, OK, SC, TX, VT
NONRESIDENTS— Exempt from taking exam if they are licensed in their home
state for the same lines being requested in RI and if their state is reciprocal. Same fees

apply; see application requirements.

NOTES:




