Attention
Employees

MINIMUM WAGE - RHODE ISLAND “&35572
Effective January 1, 2016

THIS LAW PROVIDES.....

HOURLY MINIMUM WAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES

EXCEPT: Full time students under 19 years of age working in
a non-profit religious, educational, librarial or

community services organization.

Minors 14 and 15 years of age working

not more than 24 hours in a week

Employees receiving gratuities:

OVERTIME PAY - At least 1 1/2 times your
regular rate of pay for all hours worked over
40 1n any one work week. Note: The law
contains exemptions from the minimum wage
and/or overtime pay requirements for certain
occupations or establishments.

*Learners and Handicapped workers may be
paid less than the applicable minimum but only
under certificate issued at the discretion of the
Director of Labor and Training.

MANDATORY NURSE OVERTIME -
Pursuant to RI Law §23-17.20-1 et. seq., a hospital
may not require certain nurses and certified

nurse assistants to work overtime except in an
unforeseeable emergent circumstance

MINIMUM SHIFT HOURS - Any employee
requested or permitted to report for duty at the
beginning of a work shift must be provided with 3
hours work or 3 hours wages. Employees working
in retail establishments must be provided with 4
hours work on Sundays and/or holidays.

CHILD LABOR - You must be at least 16 years
old to work in most nonfarm jobs; at least 18 to
work in nonfarm jobs declared hazardous by the
United States Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and
15 may work, with a special permit issued by local
school officials, in various jobs outside school
hours under certain conditions. Different rules
apply to agriculture employment.

Ll T L

$9.60
as of 1/1/16

$8.64
(90% of Minimum Wage)

$7.20
(75% of Minimum Wage)

$3.39

ENFORCEMENT - The Rhode Island
Department of Labor and Training may bring
criminal action against any employer who

pays substandard wages to an employee and
seek, upon conviction, a penalty up to $500.00
and/or imprisonment of up to 90 days. Each
week an employer fails to pay the applicable
minimum wage constitutes a separate violation.

Any employer who hinders or delays the
Director or his/her authorized representative

in the performance of his/her duties in the
enforcement of the law, refuses to admit the
Director or said representative to any place

of employment, or fails to make, keep, and
preserve any records as required, or falsifies
any such record, or refuses to make such record
accessible to the Director or said representative
upon demand, or refuses to furnish a sworn
statement of such record or any other
information needed for the proper enforcement
of this law shall be deemed in violation of the
law and subject to a fine of up to $500.00. Each
day such violation occurs constitutes a separate
offense.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS
TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE
EMPLOYEES CAN READILY SEE IT.

For more information on the Rhode Island Minimum Wage Law
Call (401) 462-8550 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov
Labor Standards Unit
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program, auxiliary aids and services are available on request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via Rl Relay 711
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Atencion
Empleados

SALARIO MINIMO - RHODE ISLAND “&>5ses
EFECTIVO ENERO 1, 2016

Esta ley indica.....

SALARIO MINIMO PARA TODOS LOS EMPLEADOS

EXCEPCION: Estudiantes a tiempo completo menores de 19 afios de edad
que trabajen en una organizacion sin fines de lucro com religioso,

$9.60
en fechal/1/16

$8.64

(90% del salario minimo)

educativo, bibliotéca o una organizacién de servicios comunitarios

Menores de 14 y 15 afios de edad que trabajen no

mas de 24 horas a la semana

Los empleados que reciben propinas:

Pago Por Horas Extras - Por lo menos tiempo y
medio de la tarifa regular debe ser pagada por cada
hora trabajada, despues de 40 horas, en una semana
trabajada. Nota: la ley contiene excepciones desde
el salario minimo y el requerimiento de pago por
tiempo extra, por decir con certeza ocupaciones

y establecimientos. Estudiantes y trabajadores

descapacitados talvez puedan ser pagada por debajo del

salario minimo, pero solo emitiendo un certificado a la
discrecion del Director de Labor y Training.

Tiempo extras obligatorio Para las enfermeras -
Persuadiendo R.I.G.L. §23-17.20-1 et. seq., los Hospitales
talvez no sea un requerimiento que las enfermeras
certificadas acudan a trabajar tiempo extras con excepcion
por un cumplimiento o circunstancias por emergencias.

Horas minimas en un horario - Cualquier empleado que

se le permita presentarse a su deber de trabajo al comienzo

de su horario se le tiene que proporcionar 3 horas de
trabajo 0 3 horas de salarios. Empleados que trabajen en
establecimientos de ventas deben de proporcionarle 4
horas de trabajo los Domingos y los dias Feriados.

Trabajo Para Menores - Deben de tener por o menos 16
afios de edad para trabajar en la mayoria de empleos que
no sean agricolas: tener 18 afios de edad por lo menos
para ser empleados en trabajos que no sean agricolas
pero considerados trabajos peligrosos por la Secretaria
de Labor de los Estados Unidos. Los jovencitos de 14y
15afios de edad pueden trabajar con un permiso especial
dado por la escuela local. Hay permisos oficiales para
diferentes trabajos fuera de las horas escolares bajo ciertas
condiciones. Existen diferentes reglamentos que se
aplican a los trabajos agricolas.

$7.20

(75% del salario minimo)

$3.39

Hacer cumplir - El Departamento de Labor y
Entrenamiento de RI puede tomar accidon criminal, en
contra de cualquier empleador que tenga deficiente
salarios contra un empleado y puede haber una
penalidad hasta de $500.00, 6 una condena en

la carcel hasta 90 dias. Por cada semana que el
empleador falle y no pague los salarios debidos,
constribuye a una violacion separada.

Cualquier empleador que esconda 6 retrace el
Director (a), un representante autorizado (a) hara
cumplir la ley, negarse 6 admitir al Director, 6 ser el
representante de cualquier Lugar de empleo; fallar de
hacerlo, mantenerlo, mantener cualquier documento
requerido. Falsificar documentos, reusarse a hacer
un documento accesible al Director, 6 ver al
representante demandante, reusarse a terminar de
ver la declaracion de dicho documento 6 cualquier
otra informacion usada adecuadamente en el
cumplimiento de la ley. Puede estimar en violacion
de Ia ley, y una multa de hasta $500.00. Por cada
dia que ocurra una violacidn esto constribuye a una
violacion separada.

La Ley Exije a los Empleadores este
Aviso Sea Exhibido Donde Los
Trabajadores Puedan Verlo en el
Centro De Trabajo

PARA MaS INFORMACION ACERCA DE LA LEY DEL SALARIO MINIMO DE RHODE ISLAND
Llame al (401) 462-8550; www.dlt.ri.gov
DIVISION DE LOS REGLAMENTOS DE LABOR Y TRABAJO,
DEPARTAMENTO DE LABOR Y ENTRENAMIENTO DE RI

DLT esta en el programa/empleador de igualdad de oportunidades, ayudas auxiliares y hay servicios disponibles para personas incapacitadas que asi lo solicitasen. TTY via Rl Relay 711 DLT-L-58 (Rev.1/16)



