
What You Should Know

Rhode Island State and Federal laws
regulate the employment of minors. 

These laws were written to protect 
younger workers from long hours 
and hazardous jobs.

By following the laws, younger workers can 
EARN SAFELY and GAIN EXPERIENCE

Visit Labor Standards Child Labor Laws web site at:

www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

You will find links to the actual state laws, along with brochures, 
posters, and great resources for both Individuals and Employers.

Visit the US Department of Labor (DOL)YouthRules! web site at:

www.youthrules.dol.gov/

YouthRules! was launched by the U.S. DOL to increase public 
awareness of Federal and State rules concerning young workers. 

For Job Opportunities, visit the following 
RI Department of Labor and Training web sites:

www.employri.org
www.networkri.org

www.dlt.ri.gov/bwc/events.htm
www.dlt.ri.gov/jobseeker.htm

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program.   Auxiliary aids & services are available 
upon request to individuals with disabilities.  TTY via RI Relay 711.

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
Labor Standards (Wage and Hour) Unit

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: (401) 462-8550  |  Fax: (401) 462-8530

E-mail: dlt.laborstandards@dlt.ri.gov
web: www.dlt.ri.gov/ls



Did You Know....

You must be 14 years old to work legally in Rhode Island.

The Labor Standards (Wage and Hour) Unit is charged with administering 
and enforcing the Child Labor Laws that effect the workforce in Rhode Island 
This pamplet will answer questions about the hours and types of occupations 
that youth may work, as well as point you toward sources of more information 
on Child Labor Laws.

Following the rules and restrictions will ensure that youth are able to work 
and earn in a safe environment while furthering their education and preparing 
for future careers. 

If you’re 14 or 15, you may work in retail and in food service businesses, 
provided that your job fits into one or more of the permitted occupations.
 
Examples of Permitted Occupations for 14 or 15 year olds include:

	 Office and Clerical Work
	 Cashiering, Selling, Modeling Art Work, Work
	 in Advertising Departments, Window Trimming
	 and Comparative Shopping 
	 Bagging and Carrying Out Customers’ Orders 
	 Errand and Delivery Work 
	 Some Kitchen Work and Wait Staff
	 Some Clean-up Work 
	 Ground Maintenance 

If you’re 14 or 15 years old, you may NOT be employed:  

  During school hours. 
  Before 6:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except during school vacations when
     work is permitted until 9:00 p.m. 
  More than eight (8) hours per day; more than 40 hours per week. 

Visit the Child Labor web site for exceptions - www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

You MUST have a
Special Limited  
Permit to Work 

form to be employed 
 if you’re 14-15

You MAY need a 
Certificate of Age form

 to be employed 
 if you’re 16-17 

Examples of Prohibited Hazardous Occupations for ALL Minors: 

 Manufacturing and storing explosives 
 Motor vehicle driving and outside helper
 Power-driven woodworking machines
 Exposure to radioactive substances
 Power-driven paper-product machines
 Roofing operations
 Manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products 
 Slaughtering, or meat packing, processing, or rendering. This includes the  
     operation of a power-driven meat slicer
 Power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines
 Power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears
 Wrecking demolition, and shipbreaking operations

To Get Working Papers:

Minors under 18 should take a copy of their birth 
or baptismal certificate, driver’s license, passport 
or school reports to their local school department.  
They will issue a Certificate of Age for those 
16-17 or a Special Limited Permit to Work for 
those 14-15.

If you’re 16 or 17 years old, you CAN be employed:   

 Up to but not exceeding 48 hours per week / 9 hours per day
 Not before 6:00 AM or after 11:30 PM on School Days, or after 1:30 AM  
      the night before a school day for 16-17 year olds. There is no curfew for
      non-students.
 Must have an 8-hour respite between the end of  a shift on one day and 

the start of work the next day

Visit the Child Labor web site for exceptions - 
www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

 Logging and sawmilling
 Coal mining
 Power-driven hoisting apparatus
 Power-driven bakery machines
 Excavation operations


