Para la traducción hacer clic en el cuadro de arriba
Para tradução em Português, por favor clique a caixa em cima

Skip to Main Content

Home Unemployment/TDI Workforce Development Governor's Workforce Board Regulation & Safety Workers' Comp Labor Market Information

 

Fraud and Compliance

Compliance Information

 


Employers with one or more employee must carry workers' compensation insurance coverage or be subject to fines, penalties and/or criminal prosecution. A workers' compensation information brochure is available in English and in Spanish:

 

Reporting Insurance Policy Information - Insurance carriers are required to report the start, end and change to each workers' compensation policy for RI. Visit compliance reporting requirements for more information.



Waivers - Corporate Officers are usually included as employees unless they file a waiver form, Notice of Claim of Common Law Rights (DWC-11) with the Department of Labor and Training. Injured employees who have filed the DWC-11 are not covered by the workers' compensation system, and they are NOT covered by their health care provider for medical bills related to work injuries. Employees who have filed the DWC-11 can sue the employer in civil court for damages from work related injuries.

Independent Contractor - is someone who has an independent business and is available for hire to the public. An independent contractor is not eligible for the hiring company's workers' compensation benefits. You must file a Notice of Designation as Independent Contractor Form (DWC-11-IC) with us to be considered an independent contractor for workers' compensation purposes. An independent contractor you hire should provide you with proof of a workers' compensation insurance policy OR a copy of the DWC-11-IC form filed with the Department of Labor & Training that names you as the hiring entity. A list of independent contractor forms filed is available online.

Posters - Employers must display the state poster naming their insurance carrier. Click here for employer required posters.

Reporting Injuries - An employer is required to report a work injury to their workers’ compensation insurance company. The insurance company must electronically report the injury to the Department of Labor and Training within 10 days after an injury that requires medical treatment or prevents the employee from earning full wages for at least three days. If the injury is fatal, the report must be made within 48 hours. Even if an employer questions the validity of the claimed injury, the employer must report the injury to the insurance company. The report is not an indication that the employer is accepting responsibility for the injury. 

A PENALTY of $250 will be imposed on employers that fail to notify their insurance company of an injury.




For Fraud and Compliance information, contact (401) 462-8100, or email DLT.WCFraud@dlt.ri.gov

 

WC Home | Find Coverage | Injured Workers | Insurers/Adjusters | Employers | Independent Contractors | Medical Providers | Education | Forms | Report Fraud | Frequent Questions


 

Labor Market Info | Temporary Disability/Caregivers | Unemployment | Workers' Comp | Workforce Development | Workforce Regulation Safety

RI.gov | R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |
Rhode Island State Seal An Official Rhode Island State website.

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program - auxiliary aids and services available upon request. TTY via RI Relay: 711

   

4/18/20