UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE, Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training with DLT logo and state seal

Skip to Main Content

Home Unemployment/TDI Jobs + Training Info for Employers Licensing/Regulation Workers' Comp Labor Market Info

 

Employers' Frequent Questions about Unemployment Insurance

 

Click the question to display the answer

 

1. I received a Notice of Claim Filed form for a former employee but I do not agree with the reason for separation. What should I do?


Complete the form by answering all questions and indicating the reason for separation. The information provided will be reviewed and the Department will notify you if a telephone interview is necessary. You must return this form within 10 business days in order to have standing to contest any determination with respect to the individual’s claim. 

2. Why did I receive a Notice of Claim Filed form for an employee that has not had any recent employment with my company?


If you received a Notice of Claim Filed this means that the wages this individual earned from your company are being used to establish a claim. Normally, the wages used to establish a claim consist of the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the starting date of the claim. The calendar quarters are:

January 1 through March 31
April 1 through June 30
July 1 through September 30
October 1 through December 31

If an individual does not meet the minimum earning requirements, we will re-compute the claim using the last four completed calendar quarters before the starting date of the claim.

3. How do I update my address or name on the Employer Separation Report?


You can update your name and/or address here: https://dltweb.dlt.ri.gov/empaddchg2013/ 

4. Who is the chargeable employer?


The chargeable employer is the most recent base period employer for whom the claimant was separated and had worked at least 4 weeks and earned at least $202 each week.

 

DISCLAIMER: FAQs are presented for informational purposes only. They do not carry the full force and effect of the law.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Labor Market Info | Temporary Disability/Caregiver | Unemployment | Workers' Comp | Workforce Development | Workforce Regulation Safety

RI.gov | R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |
Rhode Island State Seal An Official Rhode Island State website.

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program - auxiliary aids and services available upon request. TTY via RI Relay: 711

   

5/23/19 MDF