RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |           
         Unemployment Insurance, RI Dept. of Labor and Training
  • DLT
  • Labor Market Information
  • Temporary Disability
  • Unemployment Insurance
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Workforce Development
  • Workforce Regulation and Safety
DLT homeEqual OpportunityOnline NewsroomSitemapRules and RegsPublicationsFormsDirectionsContact DLT
LMI HomeData CenterLMI for JobseekersLMI for BusinessLMI PublicationsWagesLicensed OccupationsLMI News ReleasesFAQsContact LMI
TDI homeFile a TDI ClaimElectronic Payment CardQualified Healthcare ProvidersTDI for employersTDI FormsTDI FAQsContact TDI
UI homeFile a UI ClaimAccess AccountTeleserveElectronic Payment CardsUI for EmployersExtended BenefitsUI FAQsContact UI
WC HomeEducationDonley CenterInjured WorkerEmployerInsurer/AdjusterIndependent ContractorFormsFAQ'sContact WC
WFDS HomenetWORKriBusiness ServicesGovernor's Workforce BoardWorkforce Investment OfficeTradeYouthVeteransContact WFDS
WRS HomeProfessional RegulationApprenticeshipPrevailing WageLabor StandardsOccupational SafetyPublications and FormsContact WRS


For Employers:
Rapid Response
Workshare
Trade Adjustment Act
Employer Charges

SIDES /Sides E-Response
UI Statistics
Business Services
Fax Forms
Report a New Hire
Report Fraud
Board of Review
Frequent Questions




 
NOTICE TO ALL EMPLOYERS

Changes to Federal Unemployment Taxes

 
 


Good news for Rhode Island employers:
your Unemployment Insurance taxes are going down next year

The enactment of the state’s fiscal year 2017 budget brought good news to you and the more than 33,000 other employers whose taxes fund the Unemployment Insurance (UI) program. Taking another step to improve the business climate in Rhode Island, the General Assembly enacted two key policy changes to the UI tax structure proposed by Governor Raimondo.

Their combined effect will cut UI taxes for RI businesses, while improving the overall fairness of the system. In all, in 2017, these changes will save employers an average of $77 in UI taxes per employee and put about $30 million back on the books of the companies covered by the program. Also, they will align RI’s average per-employee tax liability more closely with Connecticut and Massachusetts.

A big factor in determining an employer’s UI tax payments is their “experience rating.” This means how often the business lays off workers who then claim UI benefits. A lower experience rating means the employer lays off fewer workers, and results in a lower UI tax rate being applied to the employer’s taxable wage base.

When determining your experience rating — and resulting UI tax rate — the state refers to one of nine UI tax schedules, lettered A through I, which are pegged to the “reserve ratio” of the UI trust fund. The reserve ratio compares the cash balance in the fund to the total wages paid that year. It’s meant to provide a picture of the overall solvency of the fund and its ability to pay out benefits in a time of high unemployment. The relationship between the UI tax schedule determination and the reserve ratio is counter-cyclical — meaning that when reserves are high, UI taxes are low; and likewise, when reserves are low, UI taxes are high. Due to a persistently low reserve ratio, Rhode Island has used the highest tax schedule, Schedule I, since 1992.

Governor Raimondo’s first policy change accelerates a move to the next lower tax rate schedule, Schedule H, by revising downward the reserve ratio required by law. This will allow Rhode Island to drop out of the maximum-rate Schedule I and result in a tax cut for every experience-rated employer in the state.

The second change creates three new, lower tax rate brackets at the bottom end of each rate schedule, thus reducing tax rates in each of the nine schedules for those employers that are least likely to lay off workers who will draw down benefits from the UI system. This reinforces the overall fairness of the UI tax structure, ensuring that companies with the lowest experience ratings pay the lowest tax — and that there’s a powerful incentive in place to avoid layoffs.

In December, the Department of Labor and Training notified employers of their tax rate for 2017. The changes to the taxable wage base went into effect on Monday, January 1, 2017, and will be reflected in employers’ first quarter tax bill, which is due April 30, 2017.

If you have questions about these tax changes, please call the Division of Taxation’s Employer Tax Section at 401-574-8767.



Voulntary Contributions - Beginning in 2016, Rhode Island began offering employers the opportunity to reduce their Unemployment Insurance tax by making a voluntary contribution to their Unemployment Insurance account. The contribution will be applied as an additional credit for the qualifying year potentially increasing the accounts reserve percentage and decreasing the experience rate for the calendar year.

Questions regarding a company’s eligibility can be directed to Employer Tax at (401) 574-8767.


RI JOB DEVELOPMENT ASSESSMENT DROPS TO 0.21% FOR 2015

For the past four years, RI employers also have been paying an additional 0.3 percent Interest Assessment as part of their Job Development Assessment. These funds were used to pay the interest on our federal UI loans and to help repay the loan principal.

A budget article was passed in 2014 that ended the Interest Assessment on December 31, 2014. This means that the Job Development Assessment rate for calendar year 2015 dropped from 0.51 percent to 0.21 percent, saving RI business $14 million in 2015.

Click here for Additional UI information for Employers

Questions on tax changes should be directed to:

Phil D’Ambra, Chief of UI Employer Tax - (401) 574-8785

 


 
RI Department of Labor and Training
Center General Complex
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920


Phone: (401) 462-8000
Fax (401) 462-8666
TTY via RI Relay: 711
3/1/16 MDF
State Seal