- Renew Elevator License
- Renew Elevator Company License
- List of Licensed Elevator
- Elevator Forms and Check Lists
- Laws, Rules and
RULE 1.0 COMPANY LICENSE:
(a) An annual license is required under the provisions of Rhode Island Section 23-33-2.2 for any business entity engaged in the construction, servicing, maintenance, modernization, removal or repair of any device subject to the provisions of this code or the provision of Chapter 23-33 of the Rhode General Laws. The annual initial and renewal fee for company licenses shall be $240.00.
RULE 2.0 REQUIREMENTS
The following conditions shall be met prior to the issuance of a company license:
(a) Registration with the Rhode Island Secretary of State indicating that the company does business within this State of Rhode Island;
(b) Shall register the name and business address of the individual owner with the names and business addresses of the corporate officers with the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training (RI DLT);
(c) Shall register a list of the types of equipment installed, constructed, maintained, repaired, or serviced with the RI DLT;
(d) Register a list of any other current state or municipal licenses held and description of same with the RI DLT;
(e) Coverage by a liability insurance policy or self insurance in an amount not less than $500,000; proof of insurance or adequacy of self-insurance shall be filed at the time of initial license or renewal application;
(f) Licensure by all employees of said business entities as required by R.I.G.L. Section 23-33-2.3 and filing of said employees' names and license types and numbers with the Chief Elevator Inspector;
(g) For companies created after July 1, 1992 at least (1) owner or (1) corporate officer shall have a minimum of ten (10) years experience in the installation, construction, servicing, maintenance, modernization, removal or repair of any device subject to the provisions of this code or of Chapter 23-33 of the Rhode Island General Laws.
RULE 3.0 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES:
(a) An annual license is required under the provisions of Rhode Island General Laws Section 23-33-2.3 for any person employed in the installation, construction, maintenance, modernization, removal or repair of any device subject to the provisions of this Code or of Chapter 23-33 of the Rhode Island General Laws requirements for individual license.
RULE 4.0 REQUIREMENTS
The following conditions shall be met prior to the issuance of a mechanic’s license or an authorized inspector permit:
(a) Passage of a written examination with a score of not less than 70% on the mechanic’s license examination and after July 1, 2013, for the authorized inspector permit, on the authorized inspector examination and filing all information, forms and payment of the appropriate fees for examinations. A person may sit for the Mechanic’s license examination upon completion of three (3) years and 1,700 hours in a Department registered elevator mechanic’s apprenticeship program, but shall not be issued a Mechanic’s license until completion of a Department registered elevator mechanic’s apprenticeship program;
(b) Completion of a Department registered elevator apprenticeship mechanic’s program or an apprenticeship program registered in a reciprocal jurisdiction under direct supervision with a licensed mechanic;
(c) Payment of a fee;
(d) Licenses issued by any foreign licensing authority shall not authorize work on an elevator or other device subject to the provisions of this Code or Chapter 23-33 of the Rhode Island General Laws within the State of Rhode Island; and
(e) Individual Licenses may be suspended by the Chief until a hearing before the Director is held to determine if the suspension is to be lifted or the license is revoked.