For More Information on

Rhode Island’s Child Labor Laws

Visit Labor Standards Child Labor Laws web site at:

www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

You will find links to the actual state laws, along with brochures,
posters, and great resources for both Individuals and Employers.

Visit the US Department of Labor (DOL)YouthRules! web site at:
www.vouthrules.dol.gov/

YouthRules! was launched by the U.S. DOL to increase public
awareness of Federal and State rules concerning young workers.

For Job Opportunities, visit the following
RI Department of Labor and Training web sites:

www.employri.org
www.networkri.org
www.dlt.ri.gov/bwc/events.htm
www.dlt.ri.gov/jobseeker.htm
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DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids & services are available
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Rhode Island
Child Labor Laws

What You Should Know

Rhode Island State and Federal laws
regulate the employment of minors.

These laws were written to protect
younger workers from long hours
and hazardous jobs.

By following the laws, younger workers can

EARN SAFELY and GAIN EXPERIENCE
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Did You Know....

You must be 14 years old to work legally in Rhode Island.

The Labor Standards (Wage and Hour) Unit is charged with administering

and enforcing the Child Labor Laws that effect the workforce in Rhode Island

This pamplet will answer questions about the hours and types of occupations

that youth may work, as well as point you toward sources of more information

on Child Labor Laws.

Following the rules and restrictions will ensure that youth are able to work

and earn in a safe environment while furthering their education and preparing

for future careers.

For 14-15 Year Old Workers

If you’re 14 or 15, you may work in retail and in food service businesses,
provided that your job fits into one or more of the permitted occupations.

Examples of Permitted Occupations for 14 or 15 year olds include:

v" Office and Clerical Work
You MUST have a v' Cashiering, Selling, Modeling Art Work, Work

Special Limited in Advertising Departments, Window Trimming

Permit to Work and Comparative Shopping
form to be employed Bagging and Carrying Out Customers’ Orders

if you're 14-15 Errand and Delivery Work
Some Kitchen Work and Wait Staff

Some Clean-up Work
Ground Maintenance

ANENENENEN

If you’re 14 or 15 years old, you may NOT be employed:

X During school hours.

X Before 6:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except during school vacations when
work is permitted until 9:00 p.m.

X More than eight (8) hours per day; more than 40 hours per week.

Visit the Child Labor web site for exceptions - www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

For 16-17 Year Old Workers

If you’re 16 or 17 years old, you CAN be employed:

v Up to but not exceeding 48 hours per week / 9 hours per day
v" Not before 6:00 AM or after 11:30 PM on School Days, or after 1:30 AM

the night before a school day for 16-17 year olds. There is no curfew for
non-students.

v" Must have an 8-hour respite between the end of a shift on one day and

the start of work the next day

You MAY need a
Certificate of Age form
to be employed
if you're 16-17

Visit the Child Labor web site for exceptions -
www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm

Examples of Prohibited Hazardous Occupations for ALL Minors:

X Logging and sawmilling

X Coal mining

X Power-driven hoisting apparatus
X Power-driven bakery machines
X Excavation operations

X Manufacturing and storing explosives

X Motor vehicle driving and outside helper

X Power-driven woodworking machines

X Exposure to radioactive substances

X Power-driven paper-product machines

X Roofing operations

X Manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products

X Slaughtering, or meat packing, processing, or rendering. This includes the
operation of a power-driven meat slicer

X Power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines

X Power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears -

X Wrecking demolition, and shipbreaking operations

To Get Working Papers:

Minors under 18 should take a copy of their birth
or baptismal certificate, driver’s license, passport
or school reports to their local school department.
They will issue a Certificate of Age for those
16-17 or a Special Limited Permit to Work for
those 14-15.




