
What You Should Know

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training

Both Rhode Island State and Federal laws regulate the employment of minors. 
These laws were written to protect younger workers from long hours and hazardous jobs.

By following the laws, younger workers can EARN SAFELY and GAIN EXPERIENCE!

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program.   Auxiliary aids & services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.  TTY via RI Relay 711 

Jobs in which youth CANNOT be employed  include:

	 Manufacturing Various Products

	 Mining

     Logging and Sawmilling

     Wrecking Demolition and Shipbreaking

     Any job requiring Operating  
	            Power-driven Machines

     Roofing

     Excavating

     and more

Jobs in which youth CAN be employed include:

	 	 Office and Clerical Work

	 	 Retail and Sales

	 	 Advertising

	 	 Price Marketing and Tagging

	 	 Bagging and Carrying Out Orders

	 	 Errand and Delivery Work

	 	 Cleanup Work

	 	 Ground Maintenance

	 	 Kitchen Work and Wait Staff 

	 	 and more

You must be 14 years old to work legally in Rhode Island

You MUST have a
Special Limited  
Permit to Work 

form to be employed 
 if you’re 14-15

You MAY need a 
Certificate of Age form

 to be employed 
 if you’re 16-17 

Hours that Youth CAN Work:

	 Up to but not exceeding 48 hours per week / 9 hours
	 per day for 16-17 year olds; Up to but not exceeding 40 
	 hours per week/8 hours per day  for 14-15 year olds

	 Not before 6:00 AM or after 11:30 PM on School Days,
	 or after 1:30 AM the night before a school day for 
	 16-17 year olds. There is no curfew for non-students. 
	 Not before 6:00 AM or after  7:00 PM for 14-15 year 
	 olds.  The curfew is 9:00 PM during school vacations. 

	 Must have an 8-hour rest between the end of one 
	 shift and the start of the next shift

To Get Working Papers: 

Visit your local school department 
with proof of your age  

(Birth or Baptismal Certificate, Driver’s 
License, Passport, School Records) 

They will issue your Certificate of 
Age or Special Limited Permit to 

Work form depending on your age

For More Information:

Phone: (401) 462-8550 | Fax: (401) 462-8530 
Web:  www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm | E-mail: DLT.laborstandards@dlt.ri.gov

For Federal Information: US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour | Phone: (866) 4US-WAGE | Web: www.youthrules.gov


