
Notice to All Employees - Information Employers Must Post
              Rhode Island Department of  Labor and Training

   

Effective JANUARY 1, 2016  -  THIS LAW PROVIDES 
HOURLY MINIMUM WAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES	 $9.60
EXCEPT:	 Full-time students under 19 years of  age working in a non-profit	     $8.64
	 religious, educational, librarial or community services organization.    	 (90% of Minimum Wage)  
	 Minors 14 and 15 years of  age working not more than 24 hours in a week	    $7.20
	                                                                      	  (75% of Minimum Wage)

	 Employees receiving gratuities:	     $3.39

Attention Employees - MINIMUM WAGE - Rhode Island

Enforcement - The RI Dept. of  Labor and Training 
may bring criminal action against any employer who 
pays substandard wages to an employee, and may 
seek, upon conviction, a penalty up to $500.00 and/or 
imprisonment of  up to 90 days. Each week an employer 
fails to pay the applicable minimum wage constitutes a 
separate violation. 

Any employer who hinders or delays the Director or his/
her authorized representative in the performance of  
his/her duties in the enforcement of  the law; refuses to 
admit the Director or said representative to any place 
of  employment;  fails to make, keep, and preserve any 
records as required; falsifies any such record; refuses 
to make such record accessible to the Director or said 
representative upon demand; or refuses to furnish a 
sworn statement of  such record or any other information 
needed for the proper enforcement of  this law, shall be 
deemed in violation of  the law and subject to a fine of  up 
to $500.00. Each day such violation occurs constitutes a 
separate offense.

The Law Requires Employers to Display this 
Poster where Employees can Readily See It

Overtime Pay - At least 1½ times the regular rate of  
pay for all hours worked over 40 in any one workweek. 
Note: The law contains exemptions from the minimum 
wage and/or overtime pay requirements for certain 
occupations or establishments.
*Learners and handicapped workers may be paid less than the 
applicable minimum but only under certificates issued at the 
discretion of  the Director of  Labor and Training.

Mandatory Nurse Overtime - Pursuant to RI Law 
§23-17.20-1 et. seq., a hospital may not require certain 
nurses and certified nurse assistants to work overtime 
except in an unforeseeable emergent circumstance.
 
Minimum Shift Hours - Any employee requested 
or permitted to report for duty at the beginning of  a 
work shift must be provided with 3 hours work or 3 hours 
wages. Employees working in retail establishments must 
be provided with 4 hours work on Sundays and/or holidays.

Child Labor - An employee must be at least 16 years 
old to work in most nonfarm jobs and at least 18 to work 
in nonfarm jobs declared hazardous by the United States 
Secretary of  Labor. Youths 14 and 15 may work, with a 
special permit issued by local school officials, in various 
jobs outside school hours under certain conditions. 
Different rules apply to agriculture employment.
For more information on the RI Minimum Wage Law call Labor Standards at 
(401) 462-8550 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ls DLT-L-58 (Rev. 1/2016)

This notice is to provide you with information on the RI Parental and Family Medical Leave Act, which 
requires that employers of  50 or more employees grant an unpaid leave of  absence, upon the request 
of  an eligible employee, for 13 consecutive weeks in any two calendar years, under certain conditions. 

Employees Eligible - Employees are eligible to apply for leave if  they are full-time employees who work 
an average of  30 hours a week or more and have been employed continuously for at least 12 months. 

Purpose of Leave - The leave required to be provided under the Act must be for one or more of the 
following reasons:
1. Birth of  a child of  an employee.
2. Placement of  a child 16 years of  age or less with an employee in connection with the adoption of  such 
    child by the employees.
3. “Serious illness” of the employee or the employee’s parent, spouse, child, mother-in-law or father-in-law.
    (Serious Illness is defined to mean a disabling physical or mental illness, injury, impairment or
    condition that involves in-patient care in a hospital, nursing home, hospice or out-patient care
    requiring continuing treatment or supervision by a health care provider). 

Requests for Leave - In order to be entitled to the leave, the employee must give at least 30 
days notice of  the intended date upon which the requested leave is to commence and terminate, 
unless prevented by medical emergency from doing so. Employees may be requested to provide written 
certification from the physician of  the person who is the reason for the leave request, which certification 
shall specify the probable duration of  the requested leave. 

School Involvement Leave - An employee who has been employed for 12 consecutive months is 
entitled to 10 hours of  leave during any 12-month period to attend school conferences or other school-related 
activities for a child of  whom the employee is the parent, foster parent, or guardian. A notice of  24 hours prior 
to the leave must be given to the employer by the employee. The leave is not required to be paid; however, an 
employee may substitute any accrued paid vacation leave or other appropriate paid leave. 

Use of Sick Leave by Adoptive Parent - Any employer who allows sick time or sick leave of  
an employee to be used after the birth of  a child shall allow the same time to be used for the placement 
of  a child 16 years of age or less with an employee in connection with the adoption of the child by the employee. 

Continuation of Health Benefits - Prior to the commencement of  leave, the employee must pay his 
employer a sum equal to the premium required to maintain the employee’s health benefits in force during the 
period of  leave, which sum is required to be returned to the employee within 10 days following return to work. 

Return from Leave - Employees who are granted leave under the Act are entitled to be restored 
to the position held when the leave commenced, or to a position with equivalent seniority, status, 
employment benefits, pay and other terms and conditions of  employment, including all fringe benefits and 
service credits that the employee had been entitled to at the commencement of  the leave. 

Prohibited Acts - The Act makes it unlawful for any employer to interface with, restrain or deny employees 
the rights provided under the Act. Any discrimination or disciplinary action taken against an employee for 
exercising his rights under the Act, or for opposing any practice made unlawful by the Act, is also prohibited. 

Enforcement - Alleged violations of  the Act may be complained of  (1) in a civil action brought by an 
employee, (2) by a complaint filed with the Director of  Labor and Training of  the State of  Rhode Island. Civil 
penalties are provided for violations of  the Act or any order issued by the Director of  Labor and Training.

Under the Rhode Island Right-To-Know Law, your employer must tell you about the 
dangers of any hazardous substances in your workplace. You have a right to know: 

	 • the common name or trade names of  the substance, including the chemical name;
	 • the level at which exposure to the substance is hazardous, if  known;
	 • the effects and symptoms of  exposure at hazardous levels;
	 • the potential for flammability, explosion and reactivity of  the substance;
	 • appropriate emergency treatment;
	 • proper procedures for the safe use of  and exposure to the substance;
	 • proper protective equipment for safe use; and
	 • procedures for clean-up of  leaks and spills.

Your employer must provide you with the above information. If  he or she has not, make sure you ask 
about it. Your company representative is:
 
The Right-To-Know Law was created to protect you. For more information about your 
rights under the Hazardous Substances Right-to-Know Law, contact the RI Dept. of  Labor and Training at 
(401)462-8570, option #4.

“Because not knowing about the hazardous substances you work with is the greatest hazard of  all.”

DLT-L-47 The RI Right-To-Know Law (Rev. 4/2008)

 (Rev. 4/2008)

RHODE ISLAND PARENTAL AND FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

PREVAILING WAGE 
Working on State or Municipal-Financed Construction Projects?

Prevailing Wage - Workers must not be paid less than the Davis Bacon wage rate for each trade listed on the 
Wage Determination schedule posted with this notice.
Overtime - Overtime rate applies when working over 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week.
Apprentices - Apprentice rates apply only to apprentices properly registered under approved state apprenticeship programs.
Proper Pay - Workers who do not receive proper pay may file a complaint with the RI Dept. of  Labor and Training; claims 
will be investigated by the department. You may contact the Prevailing Wage Unit at (401) 462-8580, option #7  for additional 
information. In addition, please note that RI Law 37-13-17 also provides for a private right of  action to collect wages and benefits.

DLT-L-39 (Rev. 4/2008)

You Are Protected under Provisions of the RI EMPLOYMENT SECURITY 
ACT and the TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE ACT   

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS 
If  you become totally/partially unemployed: 
1. File your claim for benefits with the RI Dept. of  Labor and Training (DLT) within seven days of  your layoff  date.
2. You may file your claim online at www.dlt.ri.gov/ui or by telephone at (401) 243-9100. Please visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ui 
    for hours of  operation. For additional information, visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ui or call (401) 243-9100.
3. Monday is a high-volume telephone day; you may prefer to file your claim later in the week. You will need your
    Social Security number and name, address and telephone numbers of  your employers for the last two years. 
    If  you are not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration number is required.
4. To collect unemployment benefits, the law requires that:

a. You must be unemployed through no fault of  your own,
b. You must have earned minimum qualifying wages while you were working,
c. You must be physically able to work, available for work and actively seeking work, and
d. You must register for work with the RI Dept. of  Labor and Training.      

TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE BENEFITS 
Who is Eligible for TDI Benefits? - If  you have become ill or injured and meet all of  the following 
requirements, you may be entitled to receive benefits:
  1. You are unemployed due to illness, surgery, or injury for a minimum of  seven consecutive days or more, and
  2. You are under the care of  an approved Qualified Health Care Provider and
  3. You have a timely exam: an in-office physical exam the week within the calendar week in which the first day of
      unemployment due to sickness occurs or within the calendar week prior or subsequent thereto. 
  4. You earned enough qualifying wages during the base period to be monetarily eligible.

Who is Eligible for Temporary Caregiver Insurance Benefits? - If  you are caring for a seriously ill: 
child, spouse, parent, parent in-law, grandparent, domestic partner or you are bonding with a newborn child, adopted 
child or foster child within the first 12 months of  parenting; you may be eligible 
to receive benefits if  you meet the following requirements:
  1. You are unemployed because you are caring for a seriously ill family member or bonding with a child and
  2. You provide the department with the required medical evidence of  the seriously ill family member and your
       need to care for him/her or the required proof  of  parent child relationship for bonding claims and                 
  3. You earned enough in qualifying wages to be monetarily eligible.
 
How to Apply - You can apply for benefits by completing a TDI application. The application form may be 
obtained from one of  the following sources: 
  1. Visit www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi to file online.   
  2. Visit the web site to download a TDI application.
  3. Call (401) 462-8420, Option #1 to request that an application be mailed to you.
For additional information, visit www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi or call (401) 462-8420.
NOTE: You may be entitled to a refund of  a portion of  your contributions if  during the calendar year TDI contributions were 
deducted from your pay by more than one employer. Information may be obtained regarding a refund by calling (401) 574-
8700 or writing to the RI Division of  Taxation, Employer Tax Section, One Capitol Hill, Suite 36, Providence, RI 02908-5829. 

EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICES
If  you need help finding a job, the RI Dept. of  Labor and Training offers free employment and training related services including:
   1. Job referral and placement services.
   2. Resource rooms with a wide range of  employment and training resources.
   3. Career counseling and testing to help assess aptitudes and interests.
   4. Internet access for employment and training information.
   5. Job Search workshops to help you develop interviewing skills.
   6. Résumé writing seminars to help you create an effective résumé and cover letter.
Visit www.networkri.org for a location near you. You can also access many services on the Internet at www.employri.org. 
RULE 5 - Posting of  Notices (Adopted  under  Section 28-44-38 of  the E.S. Act  &  28-41-15 of  the TDI Act)-Every employing unit in the State of  
Rhode Island shall post and maintain printed notices of  such form and design and in such numbers containing such information as the Director, Dept. 
of  Labor and Training, may determine to be necessary to administer the Employment Security Act and Temporary Disability Insurance Act. Such notices 
shall be posted in conspicuous places where the workers’ services are performed.                                                                DLT-TX-6 (Rev. 1/2014)

This employer is subject to the provisions of the
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT of the State of Rhode Island

In accordance with Rhode Island General Law §28-32-1, the employer must report to the Director 
of  Labor and Training every personal injury sustained by an employee if  the injury incapacitates the 
employee from earning full wages for at least three (3) days or requires medical treatment, regardless 
of  the period of  incapacity. If  the injury proves fatal, the report must be filed within forty-eight (48) 
hours. If  not fatal, the report shall be made within ten (10) days of  the injury. 

An injured employee shall have the freedom to choose medical treatment initially. The employee’s first 
visit to any facility under contract or agreement with the employer or insurer to provide priority care shall 
not be considered the employee’s initial choice. For more information about Workers’ Compensation 
procedures and benefits, call the Education Unit at (401) 462-8100, press #1. If  you suspect fraud, 
contact the Fraud Prevention Unit at (401) 462-8100, press #7. 
 
In accordance with Rhode Island General Law §28-29-13, this notice must be posted and maintained in 
conspicuous places where workers are employed. Fines may be imposed for noncompliance.                                                 	
							                              DWC-8 (Rev. 1/2013)

RIGHT-TO-KNOW 
Ignoring This Poster Can Be Hazardous To Your Health

Visit www.networkri.org  
to find a career center

near you

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Company:
 
Adjusting Company:
 
Telephone: 			            Policy Effective Date:

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program, auxiliary aids and services are available on request to individuals with disabilities.  TTY via RI Relay 711                                                         1/2016 MDF 


