The Rhode Island
New Hire Law went into effect on October 1, 1997. If your company does
business in Rhode Island, when you hire or rehire employees, you must
report information about those employees and your business to the RI
State Directory of New Hires within 14 days of hire. The main purpose of
this law, which is mandated by the Federal Government and administered
through the Social Security Act (42 USC Section
654), is to enhance the
enforcement of child support obligations.
All newly-hired employees must be
reported to the designated New Hire Reporting Department whether or not
the employer believes that a given employee owes child support. The
supplied information is compared against the names of child support
obligors and recipients of public benefits to improve child support
collections and detect fraud and abuse in public benefits programs.
Who Must Report? - An employer doing business in the State of RI whom hires or rehires an
How Often Must You Report? - You must report via copy of W-4’s within 14 days after the date of
hire or rehire. If reporting electronically or magnetically, you must
report by two monthly transmissions (if necessary) not less than 12 nor
more than 16 days apart.