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Business Closure Motivates Compliance
with Workers’ Compensation Laws

PROVIDENCE - Investigators at the RI Department of Labor and Training Workers
Compensation Fraud and Compliance Unit continue to identify employers operating without
the required workers' compensation insurance; some pleading ignorance of the requirements.
Such employers have learned the hard way that ignorance of the law is no defense for
breaking it. Failureto carry workers' compensation insurance will result in the assessment of
a substantial monetary penalty, the risk of the business being closed by the Director of the
Department of Labor and Training, and potential crimina charges including jail time and
fines of up to $10,000.00.

In 2004, to date over $128,000 has been collected in penalties from employers found in
violation. In 2003, $287,000 was collected in penalties. These crackdowns have benefited
over 500 workers, who are now properly covered by workers' compensation insurance.

Legidation enacted July 31, 2003 strengthened the penalties imposed against employers who
fail to obtain workers' compensation insurance. The Director can immediately shut down a
business determined to be operating without workers' compensation insurance. This provision
has proven effective in prompting employers to obtain insurance without delay. A penalty of
up to $500 to $1000 per day for each day of noncompliance will be imposed.

At arecent Departmental hearing to determine a noncompliance penalty, a mortgage banking
firm argued it should not be required to maintain workers' compensation insurance because of
the low risk for on-the-job injuries, further explaining that if an injury occurred, the
company’s Blue Cross would cover the injury. This employer’ s beliefs were erroneous, and
unfortunately, he is not alone.

First, regardless of therisk of injury relative to a particular line of business, an employer with
one or more employees must carry workers compensation insurance. Of course, the cost of
the policy takes the risk of injury into account. Second, Blue Cross will not cover awork-
related injury. Other common misconceptions are that family members and part time
employees are exempt from workers' compensation insurance. Thisis not the case.
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Some employers complain that the cost of workers' compensation insurance is too great.
Employers need to realize that the cost of an uncovered injury islikely to result in amuch
greater expense than an annua premium. Employers should understand that operating
without workers' compensation insurance leaves them vulnerable to personal liability for
an employee’ sinjury, both in terms of lost wages and medical bills.

Employers with questions about workers' compensation insurance or compliance issues
are encouraged to call the Workers' Compensation Fraud and Compliance Unit at 462-
8100 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov/wc/fraud.htm.
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The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training offers a wide array of employment and training services to both
the general public and to individuals with unusual barriersto employment. DLT isready to assist any job seeker,
whether the goal isafirst job, a better job, or a career change. Rhode Island’ s work force is protected through the
enforcement of labor laws, prevailing wage rates, and work place health and safety standards. Temporary income
support is available to unemployed, sick, or injured workers and a comprehensive rehabilitation programis available
to those injured on the job.

DLT is dedicated to the growth and competitiveness of Rhode Island industry, administering a variety of training
grants, tax credits, and apprenticeship programs to help employers. Economic indicators and labor market information
are available for long-range planning. The Agency engages in active outreach, helping large and small employers
retain their best workers or retrain their existing work force. At no cost to the employer, DLT will also screen job
applicants, post job vacancies, and help businesses ingtitute cost-sharing programs that can avert layoffs.

For more information on the innovative programs and services available to all Rhode Islanders at the Department of
Labor and Training, please call (401) 462-8000 or visit the web site at www.dlt.ri.gov.

Equal Opportunity Employer
Auxiliary aids and services are available up on request to individuals with disabilities
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