Eliminating hazardous substances filing fee saves businesses $400,000
July 23, 2013
RI businesses will save approximately $400,000 beginning in January 2014, thanks to the efforts of Governor Lincoln Chafee. An article in the Fiscal Year 2014 state budget submitted by the Governor and approved by the General Assembly will remove the $42 filing fee for all businesses registering worksite hazardous substances with the RI Department of Labor and Training. While businesses will still have to register their hazardous substances as a workplace safety measure, they will no longer be assessed a filing fee. This change is estimated to affect more than 10,000 RI companies annually.
Governor Chafee remarked, “This change is the latest in a series of cost-saving initiatives my administration has made to improve regulations and to build a more customer-friendly business climate in Rhode Island.”
Previously under the Chafee Administration, the RI Department of Labor and Training changed its fee schedule for low-pressure boiler inspections, saving small businesses more than $400,000 in annual fees. The department also revised its regulations related to low-pressure boilers, thereby exempting an estimated 3,000 businesses from low-pressure boiler inspections.
ABOUT DLT: The RI Department of Labor and Training offers employment services, educational services and economic opportunity to both individuals and employers. DLT protects Rhode Island’s workforce by enforcing labor laws, prevailing wage rates and workplace health and safety standards. The department also provides temporary income support to unemployed and temporarily disabled workers. For more information on the programs and services available to all Rhode Islanders, please call the RI Department of Labor and Training at (401) 462-8000 or visit the web site at www.dlt.ri.gov.